Harness named principal at Ann Smith Elementary

Karen Harness will serve as the next principal of Ann Smith Elementary School. Harness is a veteran educator, bringing 26 years of experience in education to the position, including 17 years with Madison County Schools.

“Karen is a leader, creative thinker, and problem solver. She is an excellent communicator and will continue to be a great asset to our leadership team in her new role as principal,” said Madison County Schools Superintendent Dr. Ronnie McGehee.

Harness is a familiar face within the Titan Zone of Madison County Schools, having served most recently as assistant principal at Ridgeland High School. “One thing I have learned at the high school level is the importance of a strong foundation,” says Harness, “Students who start here at Ann Smith Elementary thrive and do well as they progress through school. My focus will be to continue to build a strong foundation so that our students can be successful and become lifelong learners. I am honored and excited to have the opportunity to serve as the new principal at Ann Smith Elementary School.”

Harness is a graduate of Jackson State University and holds a master’s in educational leadership from Arkansas State University. She has served as a teacher and literacy specialist, as well as assistant principal specializing in curriculum and instruction. She began her teaching career in Jackson Public Schools as a third-grade teacher before joining Madison County Schools as a fifth-grade teacher at Madison Station Elementary. As a literacy specialist, Harness served at Germantown High School and Velma Jackson High School.

Harness officially assumes her new role on July 1.


Breaking News

John Hugh Tate stood in front of his congregation and made the announcement.


William Arnold (Bill) Pyle began his quest for knowledge in Jacksonville, Florida, on August 21,... READ MORE


With the future of the Sun-N-Sand hotel to be decided January 24, the Sun wanted to take a closer look at Mississippi landmarks, what they are, how they’re determined and what having the status me