Today's Top Stories

Special to the Sun

A report detailing the One Lake Project is now available for view online.

Less than two months into the project, Siemens has corrected some 5,400 water bills and $547,000 in back usage fees, according to Public Works Director Bob Miller.

Former Precinct Four Cmdr. James McGowan is retiring after 27 years with the Jackson Police Department.

Federal funding delays road projects, increases costs

Last February, the city of Jackson received $1.4 million to repave a little more than a mile of East Northside Drive.

The legal battle in the Ridgeland Costco case continues.

And again, the amendments to the city of Ridgeland’s zoning ordinance are being questioned.

Special to the Sun

St. Andrew’s alumni board

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School members of the 2017-2018 Alumni Board of Directors are (back, from left) Taylor Triplett, Judy Varney, Abram Orlansky, Tina Wells, Katie Browning, Justin Croft, Andrew Neely, Paul Buckley; (front) Amy Brooks, Bradford Blackmon, Cab Green, Erin McCain, and Ann Heidke.

International ballet

Janet Scott introduced speaker Mona Nicholas, executive director of the USA International Ballet Competition of Mississippi, at a recent meeting of the Rotary Club of Jackson. The competition  will be held June 10 – 23 for this, Jackson’s 11th competition. Shown are (from left) President Brooks Buchanan, Nicholas, and Scott.

honor society

Jackson Prep inductees into the National Junior Honors Society include (from left, back) Annie Jicka, Lampton Moore, George Pittman, Joseph Ciaccio, Olivia Smith, Ellyn Waits, Logan Huff, Hunter Yelverton, Owen Abney, Patrick Faulk, Walker Box; (third row) Havens Smith, Julia Phillippi, Caroline Huff, Abby Huff, Worth Hewitt, Jack Harvey,

Fast Pitch

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School members of the 2017-18 varsity fast pitch softball team were (from left, back) Head Coach Burney King, assistant coach Lindsay Roe, Collins Cooke, Kallen Mitchell, Betsy Seage, Isabella Fraser, Julia Mitchell, Katlyn Garner, Olivia Hardwick, Ashley McCaughan, Assistant Coach Stacy Sullivan; (front) Hana Ando,

Sophomore favorites

Madison Central High School sophomore class favorites are (from left, back) Reggie Black, Christopher Ogburn, Justin Storm, Logan Landis, Brooks Stewart, Will Wharton, Jimmy Holiday and Graham Quarles; (front) Sydney Stokes, Claire Humphreys, Allison Hill, Libba Ewing, Mary Morgan Williams, Katie Wellborn, Anna Johnston, Chloe Livingston, Sarah

Poetry time

Kicking off National Poetry Month at Jackson Academy are (from left, back) Sarah Breyden Moulder, Anna Ballard Tharp, Grace Simmons; (front) Jordan Ashford, Alex Williams, and Davis Meeks.



The Home Place has been a part of the Northside community since 1946, but Lucille Nichols is who really makes it feel like home.