Today's Top Stories

Battle against salvinia continues to be successful.

Expenses associated with incorporation funded by donations.

The city of Jackson has spent close to $3 million since last April to address problems associated with the Siemens contract.

Now, the city is trying to recoup those costs and much more.

LeFleur East planning annual fundraiser

Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba remembers his recent trip to Iceland well.

Treasurer Lynn Fitch and several fellow Republicans running for statewide office are banking on controversy over the state’s new license plates to shore up conservative support in competitive...

Speaks to Rotary

Dr. William Bynum, the new President of Jackson State University, recently spoke to the Rotary Club of Jackson. Dr. Bynum is the 11th president of Jackson State University, the fourth largest historically black college in the United States. Shown are (from left) club President Brooks Buchanan, JSU President Bynum, and Leroy Walker.

William Jeanes

William Jeanes, Northside Sun columnist, received a Gold Medal in the Magazine Writing category at the 26th International Automotive Media Competition awards ceremonies in Plymouth, Michigan. The award was for a personality profile of the late Brock Yates that appeared in Autoweek magazine.


The 31st annual Gluckstadt GermanFest is scheduled for Sunday, September 24, from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. at St. Joseph Catholic Church, located off Interstate 55 North of Madison.  The family-oriented festival is best known for its German food and authentic German Folk music provided by the band, Polkameisters.

Royal nares


Because the shifting bus gears were loud and my ears still stopped up from airline flights day before yesterday, I had a hard time hearing our guide and grasping what he said about the sights we were seeing in Hong Kong.

Garden Club

The Garden Club of Madison held its September meeting at the Madison Methodist Church.  After refreshments, guest speaker, Cindy Pickle of Memphis presented a program on container gardens.


Germantown High School yearbook staff includes members (from left, back) Bella Amis, Kennedy Corey, Victoria Jackson, Kylie Cockrell, Clark Templeton, Harrison Grimes, Callie Ball, Tae McGehee, Millie Murphy, Sophia Parsa; (middle row) Katelyn Adams, Mattie Kaitlyn Nowell, Jacqueline Lee, Grayson Hewes, Bailey Baudier, Jamey Cobb, Ann Lashley,


Madison Central High School 2017-2018 Pawprint yearbook financial staff members (from left, back) Sydney Stokes, Mary Morgan Williams, Allison Hill; (fourth row) Maggie McKinnis, Claire Iupe, Courtney Reid, Addison Baney, Kathryn Scoggins; (third row) Mallory Dale, Francie Davis, Victoria Stevens, Hannah Cloud, Elle Muirhead; (second row) Timot


Breaking News

Jackson city officials are continuing to shut off accounts for delinquent water customers,... READ MORE



Cathy Haynie, head of school at Christ Covenant School, is serving JAAIS (Jackson Area Association of Independent Schools) as president this year.