Today's Top Stories

The public comment period, which was originally scheduled to end on September 26, has been extended to October 28 for residents to voice comments or concerns about NCL Waste’s plans to construct a
Friend’s move inspires Abby McCaughan award-winning choreography.
When Jackson resident Kim Evans realized he had accidentally let his driver’s license expire, he went to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Jackson to renew it.
Annual event benefits Extra Table.
The Sanderson Farms Championship is under way, and even for the casual golf fan, the tournament has a lot to offer.

Make them join MISO

Forty-six million dollars a year is a lot to save just by flipping a switch. That’s how much money ratepayers are saving each year in electric bills because Jackson-based Cooperative Energy has joined MISO.

New Eagle

At a recent Court of Honor, Boy Scout Troop 18 recognized new Eagle Scouts. Forrest Smith, (center) son of Mr. and Mrs. William Smith, was awarded the rank of Eagle. His required Eagle project was at the Natural Science Museum.

Gardening Glimpses


A great commotion started in the ’70s about (well, about a lot of things, actually) people talking to their plants. Of course you do - words of encouragement, words of praise, or maybe even threats, as old as the Old Testament, to the fig tree that wasn’t bearing fruit.


Academic Achievement medals are given to Jackson Academy students who have maintained scholastic excellence and have made a significant contribution in a subject area. Earning recognition in the eighth grade are (from left, back) Simms Baker, Ty Usey, Lila Robertson, Zoe Ladner; (front) Isabelle Eiland, Isabelle Lee, and Priya Ray.

Main cast

Madison Middle School presented “Into the Woods, Jr.” as their spring musical. Students from all grades were able to audition for roles as cast, chorus, and dancers, and students from the art department helped with sets. Members of the cast included (from left) Christian Howell, Avery Thomas, James Covington, and Kalyn Giesecke.

Newspaper staff

Madison Central High School Uproar newspaper staff members include (from left, back) Katie King, Kaitlyn Sills, Sarah Elizabeth Johns, Jordan Carter, Maeve Rigney, Bradlea James, Sara Whitehead, Ashton Curtis, Hayden Ray; (front) Will Veazey, Lanie Leach, Katie Christy, Chandler Carter, Ashton Giesecke, and Bezal Jupiter.


Breaking News

The Women’s Foundation of Mississippi will host its “Women of Vision” event and honor four women... READ MORE


Willie Alan Weeks was born November 24, 1966 on Thanksgiving Day to Adell Newsom and Willie... READ MORE


A special Commissioning Service was held for St. Richard Catholic School sixth grade students in honor of the leadership they will provide  this school year.