Wilkirson to Step Down as FRF Director

Fondren Renaissance Foundation wishes to announce that after a decade of service and leadership, Jim Wilkirson will step down as Executive Director of FRF, effective May 1, 2019.

In keeping with FRF’s mission of promoting the preservation and revitalization of the greater Fondren Community for economic growth, stability and quality of life in Fondren, during Jim’s tenure, Fondren has experienced a transformation and rebirth unlike any other area of our city and state.

The forward and progressive thinking of his administration and the dedication to Fondren from the Boards of Directors over the years has brought about an unparalleled revitalization and community stability that has made Fondren what it is today.

Accomplishments under Jim’s tenure include the genesis of the Fondren Business Improvement District, implementation of the Fondren Streetscape Project, and development of the prestigious Cedars Juried Art Show and Symphony at Sunset. Jim has left an indelible stamp on our footprint.

FRF’s day-to-day work will not cease.

Angie Noble will step up from the Associate Director position and will serve as Interim Director during the search for a new Executive Director. Jim will remain on staff as Special Events Coordinator, focusing on the much anticipated launch of MS Food and Wine in June and the Cedars Juried Show and Symphony at Sunset in September.

Fondren remains Jackson’s most diverse and celebrated destination, thriving off its people, places and events. Together with our community, FRF will continue to make a difference in the lives of those who live, work and play here.

We appreciate your support, and look forward to what is on the horizon.


Lisa Wigington

Board President

Fondren Renaissance Foundation

Breaking News

Northsiders could no longer have to drive to Vicksburg to qualify for the TSA precheck service.


John Irwin Kassel, 84, of Madison, MS, passed away on August 16, 2019, in Austin TX.


First Presbyterian Day School sixth-graders (from left) Causey Jones and Casen Macke were chosen Best Manners by their classmates.