Math tournament

St. Andrew’s Episcopal School competed in the annual Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Tournament, hosted by the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science (MSMS) education in Columbus. There were 32 schools and 490 students competing from across Mississippi. St. Andrew’s won first place overall for the second year in a row. Individual winners include Yulang Zhang, fourth place Algebra; Ricky Miller, fourth place Geometry; Raymond Huang, seventh place Algebra 2; Abigail Calimaran, sixth place Trigonometry/Precalculus; Allen Ryu, first place Calculus; John Kees, third place Calculus; Vinson Lu, sixth place Calculus; and Julia Mitchell, seventh place Calculus. Shown are (from left, back) Mary Elizabeth Kees, John Kees, Lu, Mitchell, Naveed, Nilah Miller, Isabella Flores, Huang, Jacob McGrath; (middle) Leo Zhang, Sandra Crowder, Catherine Zhou, Ryu; (front) Erinn Kim, Carol Rappai, Dami Oluwatade, Ricky Miller, Calimaran, Henry Teal, and Christopher Wade.

Breaking News

A simple double-wide trailer situated in a parking lot along Lake Harbour Drive has become a... READ MORE


Kathleen Rodgers McAlpin Ellington died at Gulfport Memorial Hospital on December 2, 2019 after a... READ MORE


1. He drove a blue ‘77 Chevy Nova in high school. 2. He played on Jackson Prep’s 1985 and 1986 state championship basketball teams.