Little opposition for incumbents in upcoming primaries


Most officials on the Northside are running unopposed in the August 6 primary.

In fact, the only positions with competition incude sheriff, tax collector and coroner in Hinds County and in Madison County the circuit clerk, District Four and Five supervisors and District Two justice court judge.

The deadline to qualify was Friday, March 1.

Prior to that, six candidates stepped up hoping to replace Hinds County Sheriff Victor Mason (D). They include Juan Cloy, Colendula Green, Donald Ray Rhodes, Richard Spooner, Les Tannehill and  Lee D. Vance, all Democrats. Torrence Mayfield is also running as an independent. No Republicans are in the race.

Democrat Eddie J. Fair will have to beat  Doris Sutton-Coleman and Timothy Lewis to remain tax collector.

Schwanna S. Gardener (D) and Lee Thompson Jr. (D) will try to defeat incumbent Sharon Grisham-Stewart (D) to become coroner.

Running unopposed are Zack Wallace, circuit clerk; Eddie Jean Carr, chancery clerk; Charles E. Stokes, tax assessor; Gerald A. Mumford, county attorney; Robert Graham, supervisor, District One; Don Palmer,  justice court judge, District One; and Jerry Moore, constable, District One. All are Democrats.

In Madison County, incumbent Circuit Clerk Anita Wray will face Timothy N. Jenkins on the Republican ticket.

Incumbent David Bishop will square off with James Harreld for the District Four supervisor seat on the Republican ballot. Democrat Karl M. Banks is also in the running.

District Five Supervisor Paul Griffin will face Hercules (Punch) Lacey in the Democrat primary. Republican candidates Charles Chip Matthews and Erin Rose are also seeking the District Five supervisor seat.

Incumbent District Two Justice Court Judge Martina B. Griffin will face Walter Lee Johnson Jr. on the Democrat ballot. Bill Featherston (R) also qualified for the seat.


Candidates running unopposed, all Republican, are Ronny Lott, chancery clerk; Norman A. Cannady Jr., tax assessor;  Alex Breeland, coroner; Pamela Hancock, county attorney; Randy Tucker, sheriff; Sheila Jones, supervisor, District One; Trey Baxter, supervisor, District Two;  Gerald Steen, supervisor, District Three;

Kay Pace (R) and Robert Earl Winn, Jr. (D) are both running for tax collector.

Also, Michael L. (Mike) Brown (R), constable, District One; Johnny Melvin Sims (D), constable, District Two; Will Weisenberger Jr. (R), constable, District Three; Brad Harbour (R), constable, District Four;

Also, Marsha Weems Stacey, justice court judge, District One; Lloyd G. Spivey III, District Three; and District Four, Bruce McKinley, all Republican.

 Richard Tolbert (R) is running unopposed for surveyor.

Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, August 6.

One must be registered in person by 5 p.m. or mail in registration applications post-marked no later than July 8 to be eligible to vote in the August primary.

The in-person absentee voting deadline is noon August 3, and the by-mail deadline is 5 p.m. August 5.



Breaking News

The Madison County Business League & Foundation Government Affairs Committee hosted the annual... READ MORE


Martha Hardage Magee, 90, died Tuesday, February 18, 2020 at Highland Home.  She was born in... READ MORE


1. He has been married for 21 years to his high school sweetheart. 2. He and his wife have four children.